Connect with us

Namibia announces T20 WC squad, include David Wiese





Photo: courtesy

|| CF DESK ||

Namibia have named their 16-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup starting in Oman and UAE from October 17.

Former South African international David Wiese has been selected in Namibia's ICC Men's T20 World Cup squad.

The fast-bowling all-rounder has played six ODIs and 20 T20Is for South Africa, qualified to play for Namibia on the basis of first descent as his father was born in that country.

The squad includes the promising leg-spinning all-rounder, Nicol Loftie-Eaton. Loftie-Eaton has played three T20Is for his country, picking up a solitary wicket. Michael van Lingen and left-arm pace bowler Ruben Trumpelmann.

Namibia will play in the qualifiers in Group A of the First Round, the side will be led by Gerhard Erasmus.

They will take on Ireland, Netherlands and Sri Lanka in Group A of the First Round of the competition.


Gerhard Erasmus (c), Stephen Baard, Karl Birkenstock. Michau du Preez, Jan Frylinck, Zane Green, Nicol Lofie-Eaton, Bernard Scholtz, Ben Shikongo, JJ Smit, Ruben Trumpelmann, Michael van Lingen, David Wiese, Craig Williams, Picky Ya France

Reserves: Mauritius Ngupita