Connect with us

Ranji Trophy

Ranji Trophy to start on January 13



Photo: Collected

|| CF DESK ||

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has decided to begin the Ranji Trophy from January 13 next year. After a five-day quarantine and two-day practice, the teams, divided into six groups, will play their matches in Mumbai, Bangalore, Kolkata, Ahmedabad, Trivandrum and Chennai.

Kolkata has been designated as the venue for the knockouts, which are set to begin on February 20 following another round of five-day quarantine. The quarter-finals will take place from February 28 to March 3, while the semi-finals will take place from March 8 to 12. The final is set to take place from March 16 to March 20.

The BCCI has also informed the teams about the groupings. There are six groups, including five Elite ones of six teams each and one group consisting of eight teams.

The Syed Mushtaq Ali Twenty20 tournament will begin on November 4 in six cities: Lucknow, Guwahati, Baroda, Delhi, Haryana (place not specified), and Vijayawada.

The knockouts will begin on November 16 in Delhi, with the final on November 22. The sites for the Vijay Hazare Trophy 50-over competition are yet to be announced by the BCCI. It will be held from December 8 through December 27.

Ranji Trophy Groupings:

Elite A: Gujarat, Punjab, Himachal, Madhya Pradesh, Services and Assam (in Mumbai)

Elite B: Bengal, Vidarbha, Rajasthan, Kerala, Haryana and Tripura (in Bangalore)

Elite C: Karnataka, Delhi, Mumbai, Hyderabad, Maharashtra and Uttarakhand (in Kolkata)

Elite D: Saurashtra, Tamil Nadu, Railways, J & K, Jharkhand and Goa (in Ahmedabad)

Elite E: Andhra, Uttar Pradesh, Baroda, Odisha, Chhattisgarh and Pondicherry (in Trivandurm)

Plate: Chandigarh, Meghalaya, Bihar, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Sikkim, Arunachal (in Chennai)