Connect with us

Bangladesh Women Cricket

Zimbabwe to host ICC Women's Cricket World Cup Qualifier



Photo: Courtesy

|| CF DESK ||

The International Cricket Council today (Thursday) announced that the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2021 will be held in Zimbabwe from 21 November to 5 December.

The 10-team tournament, whose schedule will be released in due course, will determine three qualifiers for the ICC Women's Cricket World Cup 2022, which will be held in New Zealand from March 4 to 3, 2022.

The tournament will join five teams that have already qualified through the ICC Women's Championship: Australia, England, India, South Africa, and hosts New Zealand.

The three qualifiers as well as the next two teams will also ensure places in the next ICC Women’s Championship (IWC) along with the top five from last time, as the number of teams in the third cycle of the IWC goes up from eight to 10 teams.

“The ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier is an extremely important event in our calendar as it not only provides teams with a chance to qualify for the World Cup but will also determine the final two participants in the next edition of the ICC Women’s Championship,” ICC Head of Events Chris Tetley said.

The teams that will be seen in action in the fifth edition of the tournament are Bangladesh, Ireland, the Netherlands, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Sri Lanka, Thailand, the United States, the West Indies and Zimbabwe.