Connect with us

Bangladesh-New Zealand Series

NZ announce non-World Cup featuring squad for Bangladesh tour





Photo: Collected

|| CF DESK ||

New Zealand announced four different squads for the upcoming tours of Bangladesh, Pakistan, ICC T20 World Cup in the UAE and India.

New Zealand's four-month-long tour will begin with the T20 series against Bangladesh. The teams will play five T20Is as a preparation prior to T20 World Cup. Tom Latham will lead the 16-member squad for the upcoming series.

The 16-man squad added two uncapped all-rounder Cole McConchie and speedster Ben Sears. However, none of the players named to the squads for the India tour and the T20 World Cup will play in the Bangladesh tour. The Blackcaps are set to depart on August 23.

Apart from Sears, the same squad will play in the three ODIs against Pakistan. A new coaching team, led by Wellington coach Glenn Pocknall, will accompany the tours to Bangladesh and Pakistan.

While regular captain Kane Williamson will join by the entire T20 World Cup squad after the tour of Bangladesh and three ODIs against Pakistan.

Kiwi fast-bowler Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Kyle Jamieson, Mitchell Santner and Tim Southee will also miss the tours against Bangladesh and Pakistan. However, they will be available for the World Cup and the following T20 and test series against India.

Veteran batsman Ross Taylor has not been named in the 15-member squad for the T20 WC which is set to be played in UAE from October 17. According to head coach, Taylor would remain at home to prepare for the Indian Test tour.

Squad for Bangladesh T20Is and Pakistan ODIs:

Tom Latham (c/wk), Finn Allen, Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell (wk), Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry (ODI only), Scott Kuggeleijn, Cole McConchie, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Ben Sears (T20 only), Blair Tickner, Will Young

NZ squad for T20 WC and India T20Is:

Kane Williamson (c), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee