Connect with us


Pandemic-hit IPL to resume on September 19 in Dubai





Photo: AFP

|| AFP ||

The Indian Premier League, the world's richest cricket tournament, will resume in the UAE on September 19, more than four months after it was suspended due to the Covid-19 pandemic, officials said Sunday.

"A total number of 31 matches will be played in the duration of 27 days," said a statement by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

"The 14th season, which was postponed in May this year in the wake of the pandemic, will resume on 19th September in Dubai with a blockbuster clash between Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians."

The tournament was only half finished when it was halted in India on May 4 after a number of players and team officials caught coronavirus despite being in bio-secure bubbles.

Under the new schedule, 13 matches will be held in Dubai, 10 in Sharjah and eight in Abu Dhabi.

The final will be staged in Dubai on October 15, just two days before the rescheduled Twenty20 World Cup gets underway, also in the Gulf.

In the new-look IPL, there will be seven double headers.

The final game of the league stage will be played between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Capitals on October 8.

The first qualifier will be played in Dubai on October 10 with the eliminator qualifier 2 to be played in Sharjah on October 11 and 13.

The World T20 was originally meant to take place in Australia at the end of 2020 but it was called off as the pandemic swept across the globe causing widescale lockdowns. 

It was then switched to India before it was rescheduled again to be staged in Oman and the United Arab Emirates from October 17 to November 14.

The BCCI remains the 'host' of the World T20 but the competition will now be held across four venues -- the Dubai International Stadium, the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi, the Sharjah Stadium, and the Oman Cricket Academy Ground.

Schedule of remaining IPL matches:

September 19: CSK vs MI (Dubai, 7:30 pm)

September 20: KKR vs RCB (Abu Dhabi, 7:30 pm)

September 21: PBKS vs RR (Dubai, 7:30 pm)

September 22: DC vs SRH (Dubai, 7:30 pm)

September 23: MI vs KKR (Abu Dhabi, 7:30 pm)

September 24: RCB vs CSK (Sharjah, 7:30 pm)

September 25: DC vs RR (Abu Dhabi, 3:30 pm)

September 25: SRH vs PBKS (Sharjah, 7:30 pm)

September 26: CSK vs KKR (Abu Dhabi, 3:30 pm); September 26: RCB vs MI (Dubai, 7:30 pm)

September 27: SRH vs RR (Dubai, 7:30 pm)

September 28: KKR vs DC (Sharjah, 3:30 pm); September 28: MI vs PBKS (Abu Dhabi, 7:30 pm)

September 29: RR vs RCB (Dubai, 7:30 pm)

September 30: SRH vs CSK (Sharjah, 7:30 pm)

October 1 : KKR vs PBKS (Dubai, 7:30 pm)

October 2: MI vs DC (Sharjah, 3:30 pm)

October 2: RR vs CSK (Abu Dhabi, 7:30 pm)

October 3: RCB vs PBKS (Sharjah, 3:30 pm)

October 3: KKR vs SRH (Dubai, 7:30 pm)

October 4: DC vs CSK (Dubai, 7:30 pm)

October 5: RR vs MI (Sharjah, 7:30 pm)

October 6: RCB vs SRH (Abu Dhabi, 7:30 pm)

October 7: CSK vs PBKS (Dubai, 3:30 pm); October 7: KKR vs RR (Sharjah, 7:30 pm)

October 8: SRH vs MI (Abu Dhabi, 3:30 pm); October 8: RCB vs DC (Dubai, 7:30 pm)

October 10: Qualifier 1 (Dubai, 7:30 pm)

October 11: Eliminator (Sharjah, 7:30 pm)

October 13: Qualifier 2 (Sharjah, 7:30 pm)

October 15: Final (Dubai, 7:30 pm)