Connect with us

Bangladesh-Zimbabwe Series

Bangladesh complete clean sweep of Zimbabwe





Photo: Collected

|| CF DESK ||

Bangladesh completed a clean sweep of Zimbabwe by registering a five-wicket victory against the host Zimbabwe in the third and last ODI at the Harare Sports Club Tuesday.

Skipper Tamim Iqbal’s century and Nurul Hasan unbeaten 45 helped Bangladesh to chase down the target with five wickets and two overs in hand.

Chasing the target, the visitors got off to a solid start as the openers Tamim and Liton Das made an opening partnership of 88 runs.

Despite playing a good knock of 32 off 37 balls, Liton had to depart during the 13th over of the game, he was caught in the square leg by Marumani off Madhevere.

Then, Shakib Al Hasan came to the crease, the star all-rounder and Tamim added 59 runs for the second wicket. Shakib scored 30 runs facing 42 balls including one four and a six, before getting edge off Luke Jongwe.

Donald Tiripano got the breakthrough for Zimbabwe as he dismissed Tamim, who was caught behind by Chakabva. Skipper Tamim completed his 14th ODI hundred striking a boundary, he took 87 deliveries to reach the feat. He scored 112 runs off 97 balls aided by eight boundaries and three sixes.

Tiripano struck again on the following ball, returning Mahmudullah, who had gone for naught in his 200th ODI appearance.

Following the wicket of Mahmudullah, wicket-keeper batsman Nurul Hasan Shohan and Mohammad Mithun stitched an important partnership of 64 runs. However, Mithun was out for 30 runs by getting caught at the long-off.

Nurul was five runs behind hitting his half-century, faced 39 balls to score 45 runs smashed six boundaries while Afif Hossain played a stormy inning of 26 runs in 17 balls with three fours and a six to seal the victory.

After opener, Regis Chakabva’s sensible 84 runs, Sikandar Raza and Ryan Burl have guided Zimbabwe to set a huge target of 299 runs against the visitors Bangladesh Raza scored 57 runs, while Burl smashed 59 off just 43 balls.

Bangladesh pacers Mohammad Saifuddin and Mustafizur Rahman took 3 wickets each at the end of the first innings.

Earlier, Bangladesh captain Tamim have won the toss and opted to bowl first, which is a part of ICC Men's Cricket World Cup Super League.

Bangladesh won the first ODI by 155 runs and the second match was won by three wickets.

Mahmudullah Riyad played his 200th ODI for Bangladesh, only four others including Mushfiqur Rahim, Mashrafe Mortaza, Shakib Al Hasan and Tamim Iqbal have played so far.

Tamim was adjudged as the man of the match for his brilliant century and Shakib was named as the player of the series.

Brief score:

Bangladesh: 302/5 ( Tamim 112, Nurul 45*, Madhevere 2/45, Tiripano 2/61) beat Zimbabwe 298/10 (Chakabva 84, Ryan 59, Mustafiz 3/57) by five wickets.