Connect with us


DPDLT20: Abahani, Prime Bank bag wins



Photo: BCB

|| CF DESK ||

Gazi Group v Abahani

In a dramatic match in Mirpur's Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium Monday, Abahani Limited defeated Gazi Group Cricketers by one wicket with one ball to spare while chasing 130.

The toss was won by Abahani, who chose to field first. Despite losing opener Mahedi Hasan (three) early on, Gazi Group got off to a good start with Soumya Sarkar and Zakir Hasan adding 45 for the second wicket.

However, after the dismissals of Soumya (30) and Zakir (27) in the middle period, the Gazi Group lost the plot as regular wickets fell.

In the late stages of the innings, Mominul Haque struck 25 off 12 balls with five boundaries for Gazi Group, but Abahani bowlers took wickets in the death overs to limit Gazi Group to an average total of 130.

Abahani lost their in-form opener Munim Shahriar (nought) in the penultimate ball of the second over during the chase.

At the other end, Liton Kumar Das was outstanding, but his innings came to an end when he scored 22 off 17 deliveries, including three boundaries.

Soon after, the Gazi Group took vital wickets in Mushfiqur Rahim (12), Mosaddek Hossain (nought), and Mohammad Naim (two), putting Abahani under pressure in chase of 130.

At the other end, No 3 batsman Nazmul Hossain Shanto retained his cool and performed an anchoring role in bringing the game to a close.

Shanto, who scored 58 for the Sky Blues with four fours and two sixes, was dismissed on the fifth ball of the 19th over. Abahani still required 13 from seven deliveries after Shanto was removed.

Abahani ultimately reached their target despite losing one more wicket with one ball to spare thanks to Mehedi Hasan Rana's two boundaries.

Abahani’s Shanto was adjudged man-of-the-match for his vital knock. 

Mohammedan v Prime Bank

Prime Bank's five-wicket victory over Mohammedan in pursuit of 154 in the evening match has moved them to the top of the points table with a superior run rate than Abahani, who both have 20 points from 13 games.

Mohammedan batted first and scored 154 runs in 20 overs against Prime Bank. Parvez Hossain Emon got them off to a flying start with a 45-run innings off 20 deliveries, smashing five sixes and two boundaries.

With 32 and 25 runs in the death overs, Mahmudul Hasan and Shuvagata Hom enabled Mohammedan pass the 150-run milestone.

Prime Bank's Shariful Islam and Mustafizur Rahman each grabbed two wickets. Prime Bank responded by chasing down their target with five balls and five wickets in hand.

Prime Bank's top scorer was Rubel Mia, who hit 65 off 40 deliveries, including nine fours and two sixes. Raqibul Hasan, an experienced batsman, went unbeaten on 31 from 25 balls to ensure Prime Bank's victory.