Connect with us


Williamson and Watling return as New Zealand announce WTC squad





Photo: Collected

|| CF DESK ||

New Zealand announced their final 15 member squad for the World Test Championship final against India from June 18. Captain Kane Williamson and wicket-keeper BJ Watling have been included in the squad.

Williamson and missed the second Test against England due to elbow and Watling suffered a back injury. The WTC final will be the last game of Watling’s glittering career.

Left-arm spinner Ajaz Patel, who shone in the second Test against England at the Edgbaston and Devon Conway has been named in the squad for the marquee event. Allrounder Colin de Grandhomme has also returned after missing the Edgbaston Test, taking the place of fellow allrounder, Daryl Mitchell.

Will Young has also made it to the squad after scoring a pristine 82 in Birmingham. The Black Caps are likely to field five seamers in Henry, Trent Boult, Neil Wagner, Kyle Jamieson, and Tim Southee.

India and New Zealand will lock horns on the 18th of June to claim the ultimate prize in the longest format at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton.


Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling, Will Young