Connect with us


DPDLT20: Controversy, rain hit match win by Mohammedan





Photo: BCB

|| CF DESK ||

Mohammedan Sporting club won against their biggest rival Abahani Limited in their high-voltage match by 31 runs (D/L method) in Bangabandhu Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League T20 at Sher e Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur. MSC captain Shakib Al Hasan has broke the stumps while arguing with the umpire which gave birth to a new controversy in DPL.

Chasing the target Abahani were in trouble since the beginning of the innings, as three-top order batsman Mohammad Naim (0), Afif Hossain (2) and Aks Swadhin (0) departed before crossing double-figure.

During the ongoing match, Shakib lost his cool and screamed at the on-field umpire as he appealed for a (LBW) against Mushfiqur Rahim in the fifth over, but the umpire Imran Parvez showed no interest. He kicked the stumps at the non-strikers' end, as well as shouted at the umpire.

At the sixth over, the rain became more intense, prompting the umpire to order the groundsmen to put in the covers. Abahani had batted 5.5 overs until that point.

The match was delayed due to rain and the target was reduced to 76 runs in nine overs, according to the D/L method. Abahani were restricted on 44 losing six wickets, Najmul Hossain Shanto scored 15 and Mushfiqur Rahim remained unbeaten on 18 runs.

Shuvagata Hom bagged three wicket, Taskin took a couple of wicket and Abu Jayed got a wicket.

Winning the toss Mohammedan captain Shakib decided to bat first, the side scored 145 losing six wickets in 20 overs.

The openers Abdul Mazid and Parvez Hossain Emon led to good start for the side, putting 37-run partnership. However, Majid could not last long as he was out for 16 runs off 18 balls. Mohammedan wicketkeeper-batsman Irfan Shukkur has failed in this match as well as in the previous two matches. He returned with just 14 runs.

Shakib who was struggling with the bat in the previous matches, has notched up an innings of 37 runs off 27 balls with one four and two sixes. The left-arm batsman was then caught by Arafat Sunny off Saifuddin.

Then, Shuvagata (1), Shamsur Rahman (1) and Mahmudul Hasan was unbeaten on 30 runs. Aks Swadhin took three wickets, Tanzim Hossain Sakib grabbed two and Saifuddin got a wicket for Abahani.

Brief Score:

Mohammedan: 145/6 (Shakib 37, Mahmudul 30, Aks Swadhin 3/24, Tanzim 2/17) beat Abahani 44/6 (Mushfiqur 18*, Shanto 15, Shuvagata 3/17, Taskin 2/5) by 31 runs.