|| CF DESK ||
Pakistan opener Fakhar Zaman has referred to his controversial run-out involving Quinton de Kock in the second ODI against South Africa, which ended his stay in the middle for 193 runs. The incident occurred when Aiden Markram was caught short of his crease by a direct hit from long-off in the first ball of the final over.
The runout sparked a social media firestorm after wicketkeeper de Kock seemed to suggest that the throw was heading towards the non-end, striker's causing Fakhar to slow down during his run-up.
As per MCC's Law 41.5.1, "it is unfair for any fielder wilfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball."
But after Pakistan fell short by 17 of the target and lost the match, Fakhar said that the run out was his fault.
"The fault was mine as I was too busy looking out for Haris Rauf at the other end as I felt he'd started off a little late from his crease, so I thought he was in trouble. The rest is up to the match referee, but I don't think it's Quinton's fault," Fakhar said.
The MCC further gave a detailed explanation of the rules regarding the same in a series of tweets.
“It’s up to the umpires to decide if there was such an attempt. If so, then it's Not out, 5 Penalty runs + the 2 they ran, and batsmen choose who faces next ball.” MCC tweeted.
South Africa batsman Temba Bavuma also came out to de Kock's defense and said the keeper did not break any rules. "It was quite clever from Quinny. Maybe some people might criticise it for maybe not being in the spirit of the game. But it was an important wicket for us. Zaman was getting close to our target. Yeah, it was clever from Quinny,"
With this win, South Africa has levelled the three-match series at 1-1 with the decider slated to be played on Wednesday.