Connect with us


NCL TIER 2: Dipu hits ton for Ctg as Ayub gets century for Metro





Photo: Collected

|| CF DESK ||

Chattogram Division faced Rajshahi Divison on the second day of Bangabandhu National Cricket League (NCL) on Tuesday [March 23] in Rajshahi. On the other hand, Dhaka Metro played against Barishal Division at Barishal Divisional Stadium in Barishal.

Chattogram Division Vs Rajshahi Division

Chittagong Division have packed up by 287 for 10 in their first innings, Shahadat Hossain Dipu, who was unbeaten on 88 in Day 1 completed his century, however returned after scoring 108 runs off 256 balls with 11 fours and 1 six.

However, taking a lead of 135 runs Chittagong were in trouble after the end of day two as they posted 43/5, Rajshahi’s Farhad Reza took three important wickets for his side. He returned Yasir Ali (4), Skipper Mominul Haque (13) and Parvez Hossain Emon for naught. Mahmudul Hasan Joy remained unbeaten on 26. Other than Farhad, Taijul Islam and Shafiqul Islam took one wicket each.

Earlier, Rajshahi were all out scoring 152 runs, no batsmen could exceed 30 runs, Farhad remained unbeaten on 27. Apart from him, Sabbir Rahman scored (24), Farhad Hossain (24) and Pritom Kumar (21). Chittagong’s Rana took 3 wickets and Noman Chowdhury got 4 wickets while Hasan Murad got 2 and Ifran Hossain got 1 wicket.

Dhaka Metro vs Barishal Division

In another match of the second tier, the batsmen showed dominance. Dhaka Metro captain Marshall Ayub scored a great century against Barishal Division. Dhaka Metro, which started the second day with a loss of 1 wicket for 29 runs, finished the day by a lead of 63 runs. Zahiduzzaman has scored a half century. Kamrul Islam and Monir Hasan got two wickets each for Barisal.

Brief score:

Dhaka Metro: 324/7 (102 overs) (Marshall Ayub 112; Monir 2/63, Kamrul 2/44) lead Barisal Division: 241/10 (76 overs) (Ashraful 48, Sayem 46; Abu Haider Rony 3/34, Rakibul 3/76) by 83 runs.


Chittagong Division 287/10 & 43/5 (101.2 overs) (Dipu 108, Yasir 63; Reza 4/44) lead Rajshahi Division 152/10 (44.3 overs) (Reza 27; Noman 4/47) by 178 runs.