Connect with us


NCL TIER 2: Shahadat shines for Ctg as Ashraful’s Metro all out for 241



Photo: Collected (file Photo)

|| CF DESK ||

The 22nd edition of Bangabandhu National Cricket League (NCL) has started on Monday as Chittagong Division played in the first round against the host Rajshahi Division at Shahid Kamrujjaman Stadium in Rajshahi. On the other hand, Dhaka Metro faced host Barisal Division at Barishal Divisional Stadium.

Chattogram Division Vs Rajshahi Division

Chittagong Division chose to bat first after winning the toss. However, Farhad Reza strike and sent off Chittagong’s Parvez Hossain Emon and Pinak Ghosh before adding big runs on the scoreboard. Mahamudul Hasan Joy also returned scoring 11 runs. After that, captain Mominul returned to the dressing room by Shafiqul Islam, he scored only 6 runs.

Yasir and Shahadat returned Chittagong to the match after losing 4 wickets for 52 runs. However, Yasir played an innings of 63 off 119 balls before gone out by Taizul Islam. Test captain Mominul Haque did not make a good start. Pacer Mehede Hasan Rana made an important half-century for the team, scored 55.

Last year's Youth World Cup winning cricketer Shahadat Hossain Dipu remained unbeaten on 88* with Irfan Hossain at the end of the first day, as a result Chittagong lost 8 wickets and scored 256 runs.

Reza and Assaduzzaman took two wickets each for Rajshahi. Taizul and Shafiqul got 1 wicket each.

Dhaka Metro vs Barishal Division

In another match of the day, Dhaka Metro lost one wicket for 29 runs at the end of the day after Dhaka Metro were bundle up at 241 runs. Monir Hossain returned Anisul Haque Emon who scored 10 runs.

Metro’s Mohammad Ashraful missed his half-century for only two runs. Then Saikat Ali scored 36 runs, Sohag Gazi (45), Abu Sayem (46) apart from them no other batsmen could make runs.

Dhaka Metro bowler’s Abu Haider and Rakibul Hasan have taken 3 wickets each. Besides, Arafat Sunny got 2 wickets. Aminul Islam and Shahidul got 1 wicket each.

Brief score:

Chattogram Division 256/7 in 90 overs (Shahadat 88*, Yasir Ali 63, Mehede 55; Farhad Reza 2/36, Asaduzzaman 2/55, Towhid Hridoy 1/43)


Barishal 29/1 in 12 overs (Shamsur 12*, Anisul 10, Zahid 7*; Monir 1/9)

Dhaka Metro: 241/10 in 76 overs (Ashraful 48, Abu Sayem 46, Shohag Gazi 45; Abu Hider 3/34, Rakibul Hasan 3/76, Arafat Sunny 2/59)