Connect with us

Bangladesh- New Zealand Series

Conway get ODI call-up as NZ announce squad against Bangladesh





Photo: Collected

|| CF DESK ||

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson’s elbow injury has rushed an inevitable Devon Conway one-day international cricket debut for New Zealand as Black Caps have announced their ODI squad against Bangladesh on Wednesday.

Conway, the Black Caps’ second-top run-scorer in the T20 series win over Australia has been named in a 13-man squad including two other new faces, Will Young and Daryl Mitchell for the three-match series.

Top-order batsman Young has two Tests to his name and Mitchell, the in-form allrounder has played four Tests and 12 T20 internationals.

Conway, though, is cricket’s man of the moment and in the box seat to occupy Williamson’s No 3 slot behind regular ODI openers Martin Guptill and Henry Nicholls in game one at University Oval.

The skipper was ruled out of the ODI series on Tuesday to rest an overuse injury in his left elbow, leaving wicketkeeper Tom Latham to lead the side and play his 100th ODI at the scene of his debut against Zimbabwe in 2012.


Tom Latham (c), Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Will Young.