Connect with us

Bangabandhu T20 Cup

Barisal earned spot in play off





Photo: Tanvin Tamim / Cricfrenzy

||CF Correspondent||

Naim Sheikh’s fine century went in vain as Fortune Barishal became the fourth team to qualify for the playoffs of Bangabandhu T20 Cup as they earned a two-run victory in a high-scoring encounter against Beximco Dhaka at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium on Saturday.

In reply to the massive target of 194, Dhaka needed a solid start and they got though Sabbir Rahman and Naim Sheikh but Suhrawadi Shuvo shifted the balance to Barishal by picking up three wickets in no time including Sabbir, Mushfiqur and Al-Amin 19, 5 and 0 respectively.

But Naim Sheikh had other idea who then went onto score his maided T20 which almost pulled off the match for Dhaka. Naim eventually got out on 105. Yasir Ali chipped in with 41 but it was not enough as Barishal restricted Dhaka for 191 for 5.  Suhrawadi claimed 3 wickets for 13.

Earlier Barishal posted a total of 193 for 3 thanks to fifties from Towhid, Afif and Saif. Following Tamim and Saif’s 59-run opening partnership, Towhid and Afif ended the Barishal innings on high with their unbeaten 91 runs partnership. Towhid remained unbeaten on 51 off 22 and Afif was on 50 off 25 balls. Al-Amin, Rubel and Muktar shared 1 wicket each.