Connect with us

Bangabandhu T20 Cup

Strong Shakib-Mahmadullah’s Khulna; Weak Tamim’s Barishal






|| Cricfrenzy Correspondent ||

This is the time of BPL in Bangladesh but this year it wouldn’t take place due to COVID-19. But we will have Bangabandhu T20 Cup. Five-team tournament will start from tomorrow. Before that let’s have a look at the teams.

Beximco Dhaka: The coach Khaled Mahmud gives priority to current form and experience. But this season he took a u-turn as the new team has been featured several youngsters who don’t have much experience as well. However,  As far as the experienced campaigner is concerned, the team will get the service of Mushfiqur Rahim in the batting and Rubel Hossain in the bowling.

Apart from them, Tanjid Hassan and Mohammed Naim can open the innings but it will be interesting to see if Shahdat Hossain could manage a place in the playing XI. For middle order – there will be Akbar Ali, Yasir Ali, Sabbir Rahman but the team will mostly depend on Rahim who would have to play the key role.

In the bowling department, the onus will be on Rubel. Alongside him, left-hand spinner Nasum Ahmed and off-spinner Naim Hassan will be there too. Apart from them, there will be Mehedy Hasan Rana and Abu Haider as well.

Gemcon Khulna: They have won the Bangabandhu T20 draft and took Shakib Al Hasan and Mahmadullah in their team. Since they have two all-rounders in the team, they wouldn't have to think much about the team combination. In-form Imarul Kayes and Enamul Haque will open whereas Shakib-Mahmadullah will take over the responsibility of the middle order. In the end, there will be Shamim Hossain from U-19. Even there is Salman Hossain too. If the team wants, they could give the chance to Shubhagata Home as well.

In the bowling department, Al Amin Hossain and Shafiul Islam will get help from the youngster Hasan Mahmud and they are able to create a hurdle for other teams. Shahidul Islam, who did well in the last season of BPL, is there too to replicate his magic. Young Rishad Hossain’s leg-spin could be the key as well. Even Najmul Hasan's left-handed spin too will be tough to play on Dhaka surface. Apart from them, there will be the Shakib-Mahmudullah duo. They have all the base covered as the opener Enamul said, “We are favourite and as a team, this is a great thing.”

Minister Group Rajshahi: They have taken all-rounder Mohammed Saifuddin, Mehedy Hasan and Farhad Reja from the draft as they have decided to make their playing XI around them. The manager Hannan Sarkar said, ‘we had a focus on the all-rounder as the format asks for more all-rounders in the team.”

At the top-order, there will be Najmul Hassan whereas wicket-keeper batsman Nurul Hassan will be at the lower order. In the bowling department, there will be experienced spinner Arafat Sunny. Meanwhile, Ibadat Hossain will be the main pacer. Left-hand speedster Rejaul Rahman, who was in a sublime form in his debut for the first-class cricket and Mukidul Islam, who did well in the last BPL – are expected to do well as well.

Gazi Group Chaottogram: They too have a promising team with the likes of Liton Das, Soumya Sarker, Mohammed Mithun, Mosaddek Hossain and a few. If they can do well then this team can beat their opponent as well. But there is a question mark on their form. However, in form Liton-Soumya can trouble any of the team with their bat.

In the bowling department, young pacer Shariful Islam and spinner Taijul Islam will be there. But they will mostly depend on Mustafizur Rahman. Alongside him, there is U-19’s Rakibul Hasan, whose left-arm spin will be important too. Apart from them, there is no experienced bowler in the squad. However, Soumya or Mosaddek could be the fifth bowler as well. It will be interesting to see how the successful T20 coach Mohammed Salauddin plan with this team.

Fortune Barishal: This team is the weakest on pen and paper among others. Apart from the captain Tamim Iqbal and Afif Hossain, there is no experienced batsman as Saif Hasan, Towhid Hridoy, Irfan Sukkur, Mehedy Hasan Miraj are not considered as an experienced batsman in the T20 format.

Meanwhile, their bowling department is good. Last BPL season’s key performer Kamrul Hasan is there who helped Rajshahi win the title. His 4 overs will be very crucial. Apart from him, there is in form Taskin Ahmed. Suman Khan, who did well in the Presidents Cup, is there as well who will bowl with the new ball. Along with these three pacers, Aminul Islam’s leg-spin and Shorawardi Shuvo’s left-hand spin will be important too for Tamim Iqbal-led team.