Connect with us

india Cricket news

Umpire favoures Tendulkar in scoring 200 in ODI: Steyn


Published

:


Update

:

Photo: Image : Collected

|| CF Correspondent ||

South Africa fast bowler Dale Steyn revealed that he got out Sachin Tendulkar for 190-odd but umpire Ian Gould gave him not out.

‘’Tendulkar played the historic innings at Gwalior in 2010 and scored a jaw-dropping 200 for his country. He scored the first double-hundred in ODI cricket, and it was against us in Gwalior,” Dale Steyn said.

“And I actually remember - I think I got him out lbw when he was about 190-odd. Gouldy was the umpire and he gave him not out,” he also said.

“And I was like, ‘why, why did you give him not out!? That’s so dead’. And he was like, ‘mate, look around -- if I gave him out, I won’t make it back to the hotel,” he added.

Steyn, however, was full of admiration for Tendulkar, international cricket’s all-time leading run-scorer and century-maker, saying he had everything covered; he’s got every shot in the book.

“He was so good, and very rarely got out lbw,” added Steyn of the 'Little Master’, who retired in 2013.”

“And, like Jimmy said, you just didn’t want to bowl a bad ball to him, especially in a place like India.”

“You bowl a bad ball, and he hits you four – he’s on nought and he hits you for four in Mumbai (Tendulkar’s home town), it feels like the world is closing in on you. He’s only on four not out, he may as well have been on 500!”

“You feel like, ‘maybe I could bring the pace down a little bit and really focus on getting the ball in the right place for as long as I possibly can’. You just didn’t want to bowl a bad ball.”

“You just hope one will do something off the seam or he’s got an off.
 

Archive

Advertisement