Connect with us

BBPL 2020

Rajshahi bowls against Chattogram in second qualifer





Photo: Image : Cricfrenzy

|| CF Correspondent ||

Rajshahi Royals captain Andre Russell won the toss and opted to bowl first against Chattogram Challengers in the Second Qualifier of the Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League (BBPL) at Sher-e- Bangla National Stadium on Wednesday.

Though the match is named the second qualifier, this indeed turned out to be a virtual semi-final match for both these teams as winners would get the chance to play in the final against Khulna Tigers on Friday.

The match promised to be a showdown between two West Indies players.Chris Gayle and Andre Russell will try to showcase their skills in the match today as both is having a slow tournament compare to their standard.

Imrul Kayes and Liton das will have to play big innings for their respective team to win this match.

Rajshahi crushed Chattogram by eight wickets in the previous encounter.

Team changes

Rajshahi have made two changes to playing XI with Ravi Bopara and Taijul Islam is making way for Mohammed Nawaz and Irfan Sukkar. Rajshahi lost the first Qualifier to Khulna Tigers by 27 runs.

Chittagong Challengers fields an unchanged side that beat Dhaka Platoon by seven wickets in the Eliminator game.

Rajshahi Royals playing XI

 Andre Russell (C ), Liton Das(w), Afif Hossain, Alok Kapali, Farhad Reza, Mohammad Irfan, Taijul Islam,  Abu Jayed Rahi,Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Mohammed Nawaz, Irfan Sukkur.

Chattogram Challengers XI

 Mahmuddullah Riyad ( C ), Imrul Kayes,  Nurul Hasan (w)  Chadwick Walton, Rubel Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Chris Gayle, Muktar Ali, Rayad Emrit , Asela Gunaratne,  Mehedi Hasan Rana.