Connect with us

Dhaka Premier League'19

Prime Doleshwar, Prime Bank, Shinepukur cruise in DPL





Photo: Prime Bank vs Uttara Sporting Club. -Cricfrenzy

||CF Correspondent||

The rain put an adverse impact on the Dhaka Premier League (DPL) on Wednesday at different venues across the city but all game fetched the result at the end. Prime Doleshwar survived scare to beat BKSP by three wickets while Prime Bank Cricket Club, inspired by veteran left-arm spinner Abdur Razzak’s 4-15 crushed Uttara Sporting Club by 57 runs. Elsewhere Unmukt Chand’s 90 not out led Shinepukur to a comprehensive eight-wicket win over Brothers Union.

Prime Doleshwar vs BKSP

Prime Doleshwar, one of the contenders of the DPL title, survived a scare to narrowly edged BKSP past by three wickets in the sixth round game of the league at Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium at Fatullah.

BKSP were shot out for paltry 160 in 44.4 overs but raised the hope of an upset, reducing Prime Doleshwar to 50-4, before No. 6 batsman Taibur Rahman hit 61 not out to help the side get over the line. Prime Doleshwar eventually managed to acquire their fifth victory in sixth matches by reaching 165-7 in 45 overs.

They have now 10 points, same as Abahani Limited and Prime Bank Cricket Club but stays at third position by virtue of net-run-rate.

Taibur shared a 57-run with Shykat Ali for the fifth wicket stand to reduce the tension in Doleshwar’s tent. However, Shykat’s dismissal after scoring 43, brought another mini-collapse in Doleshwar’s innings but Taibur held his nerve to sail the side home. Taibur hit six fours and one six in his 105 ball-61 not out.

Tanzim Hasan Shakib was the most successful bowler for BKSP with 3-35 while Naushad Iqbal grabbed 2-27.

Put into bat first, BKSP lost wickets at regular interval by some disciplined bowling attack of Doleshwar bowlers. Opener Prantik Nowroz Nabil was the highest scorer for the side with 30 while skipper Akbar Ali made 28. Arafat Sunny, Shykat Ali and Enamul Haque Junior claimed two wickets apiece.

Shinepukur Cricket Club vs Brothers Union

Indian recruit Unmukt Chand smashed an unbeaten 83 ball-90 as Shinepukur Cricket Club posted a crushing eight-wicket victory over Brothers Union by D/L method to achieve their second victory in DPL at BKSP-4 ground.

Put into bat first, Brothers were 197-5 in 40 overs when rain interrupted the proceedings of the game. Shinepukur’s target was set 239 in 40 overs by D/L method when the game re-started after a spell of the shower.

Shinepukur, however, reached the target in 35.4 overs thanks to chand who struck nine fours and two sixes in his match-winning knock.

Opener Shadman Islam and Sabbir Rahman gave the side a good start, putting on 61-run for the opening stand. Sabbir contributed 30 but Shadman continued to march on.

He and Chand further shared 75 runs for the second wicket stand before Shadman was dismissed for 77 off 69, striking nine fours and two sixes.

Chand then didn’t allow Brothers to make any strike as he and Towhid Riody remained unscathed to help the side gun down the target. Ridoy was unbeaten on 33. Sharifullah and Chirag Jani bagged one wicket apiece for Brothers.

Earlier opener Junaid Siddique and Chirag Jani kept Brothers rolling. Junaid was the highest scorer for the side with 74. Jani made 54.

They gave the side a platform of a big score and Yasir Ali who was unbeaten on 39, looked set for giving late impetus. However, rain arrived at that moment as a curse for them.

Prime Bank vs Uttara Sporting Club

Veteran left-arm spinner Abdur Razzak caught Uttara Sporting Club in spin-web to lead Primer Bank Cricket Club to a comprehensive 57-run victory over Uttara Sporting Club by D/L method in another rain-affected DPL game at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

Razzak claimed 4-15 in eight overs to restrict Uttara to 182-8 in 38 overs after they were set a winning target of 240 in 38 overs by D/L method. Prime Bank earlier managed to pile up 230-7 in 38 overs before the rain halted the game for about a one and a half hours.

Prime Bank stays in the second position by virtue of net-run-rate despite collecting 10 points like league leaders Abahani Limited in six matches. Prime Doleshwar and Legends of Rupganj, the two other teams who have also 10 points stay in third and fourth position respectively.

Al-Amin Hossain was the highest scorer for Prime Bank with 60. Salman Hossain made 37 while opener Anamul Haque’s three straight century-streak came to an end after he scored 36. Abhimanyu Easwaran chipped-in-with 35. Anisul Islam Emon snapped up 3-35 for Uttara while Asaduzzman Payel took 2-29.

In pursuit of the chase, Uttara began confidently with Tanzid Hasan and Anisul Islam Emon shared 64-run for the opening stand. Nayeem Hasan gave the side breakthrough, dismissing Tanzid for 35 after which Razzak ripped through Uttara middle order in a gem of spin bowling.

Nayeem gave him the handy support installing Uttara with 2-42. Sheikh Humayun was the highest scorer for Uttara with 39 not out.