BPL 2024

Fortune Barishal cruise to their maiden BPL silverware

Online Desk

Online Desk
প্রকাশের তারিখ: 18:05 শুক্রবার, 01 মার্চ, 2024

|| CF DESK ||

Fortune Barishal clinched their maiden Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) title as they stopped Comilla Victorians’ hat-trick trophy win by six wickets in the electrifying final of the BPL at Mirpur Friday.

Comilla Victorians' all-rounder, Andre Russell, unleashed a barrage of four sixes in a scintillating 14-ball 27, propelling his team to a formidable total of 154 for six against Fortune Barishal.

Russell emerged as the knight in shining armor for Comilla after they found themselves in dire straits, reeling at a precarious five down for 79 within the 12th over.

With the team still struggling at 106 for five by the 16th over, the introduction of the formidable Russell proved to be the turning point, ensuring Comilla posted a competitive score.

In a sensational display of power-hitting, Russell dismantled the formidable James Fuller in the 19th over, plundering 21 runs off his bowling, including three towering sixes that swung the momentum firmly in Comilla's favor.

However, Barishal's Saifuddin displayed nerves of steel in the final over, delivering pinpoint yorkers and conceding just seven runs to rein in the Caribbean dynamo.

The match witnessed a dramatic start with Comilla opener Sunil Narine falling victim to Kyle Mayers in the very first over. Barishal's Fuller capitalized on the momentum, snaring the prized wickets of the in-form Litton Das and Towhid Hridoy, leaving Comilla's batting lineup reeling.

Despite the struggles of the other batsmen, Mahidul Islam Ankon managed a gritty 35-ball 38, punctuated by two sixes and as many fours, while Jaker Ali failed to find his rhythm, laboring to a 23-ball 20.

Chasing a modest total of 155, Barishal skipper Tamim got off to a flying start, wasting no time in dismantling the target.

He blazed three sixes and as many fours in his 26-ball 39-run onslaught, solidifying his position as the tournament's top scorer with a tally of 492 runs.

Tamim's left-handed finesse was on full display as he orchestrated a commanding 76-run partnership with Mehedi Hasan Miraz (29 off 26 balls) before falling victim to off-spinner Moeen Ali in the eighth over.

Miraz followed suit shortly after, attempting to replicate Tamim's aggression against Moeen.

However, the responsibility then fell on Mayers, who took charge of the situation with a display of exquisite strokeplay. With five fours and two sixes to his name, Mayers spearheaded the chase with a brisk 30-ball 46, forming a vital 59-run partnership with Mushfiqur Rahim. 

David Miller struck a four to finish and helped Mushfiq and Mahmudullah Riyad to lift the BPL silverware for the first time.