World Cup 2023

ICC announces team of World Cup 2023

Online Desk

Online Desk
প্রকাশের তারিখ: 13:38 সোমবার, 20 নভেম্বর, 2023

|| CF DESK ||

International Cricket Council (ICC) revealed the team of the 2023 World Cup with the best players from five teams across the ten participating nations.

Rohit Sharma was named captain of ICC's World Cup 2023 XI. Apart from captain Rohit, the other Indians are Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami.

The other five members of the World Cup XI were from champions Australia (2), semi-finalists South Africa (1) and New Zealand and Sri Lanka (1).

South Africa's Quinton de Kock is at the top of the order after signing off in style, making history in his final days as an ODI player.

The South African became the first wicket-keeper in World Cup history to surpass the 500-run mark and claim 20 dismissals in a single tournament.

Completing the top order is Kohli, who topped the run scoring charts just as he did in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 12 months ago.

Kohli hit a staggering 765 runs at an average of 95.62, shattering the previous record held by Sachin Tendulkar, who amassed 673 runs during the 2003 edition.

Kohli’s best performance came in the semi-final win over New Zealand as his 117 and third tournament century steered India to a first final in 12 years.

New Zealand's Daryl Mitchell smashed two hundreds. The prolific Kiwi blasted a swashbuckling 130 in the round robin against the India and scintillating 134 in the semi-final to take his final tally to 552 runs.

All-rounder Glenn Maxwell and leg-spinner Adam Zampa were the only Aussies in the XI. 

Sri Lankan superstar Madushanka, who announced himself onto the world stage with figures of five for 80 against India was also placed in the list.

The 12th man is Gerald Coetzee, who was among the wickets in every match he played on his ICC tournament debut.

The team of the ICC Men’s World Cup 2023 (in batting order) is:

Quinton de Kock (wk) (South Africa) – 594 runs at 59.40
Rohit Sharma (c) (India) – 597 runs at 54.27
Virat Kohli (India) – 765 runs at 95.62
Daryl Mitchell (New Zealand) – 552 runs at 69
KL Rahul (India) – 452 runs at 75.33
Glenn Maxwell (Australia) – 400 runs at 66.66 and six wickets at 55
Ravindra Jadeja (India) – 120 runs at 40 and 16 wickets at 24.87
Jasprit Bumrah (India) – 20 wickets at 18.65
Dilshan Madushanka (Sri Lanka) – 21 wickets at 25
Adam Zampa (Australia) – 23 wickets at 22.39
Mohammed Shami (India) – 24 wickets at 10.70

12th player: Gerald Coetzee (South Africa) – 20 wickets at 19.80