World Cup 2023

Bangladesh team land in India for World Cup

Online Desk

Online Desk
প্রকাশের তারিখ: 16:11 বুধবার, 27 সেপ্টেম্বর, 2023

|| CF DESK ||

Bangladesh's national cricket team on Wednesday have reached Guwahati for the upcoming ODI World Cup 2023, starting on October 5.

The team will play two World Cup warm-up fixtures at Guwahati against Sri Lanka and England respectively.

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) revealed the World Cup squad on Tuesday via social media following the third ODI game between Bangladesh and New Zealand, with Shakib Al Hasan as captain and Najmul Hossain Shanto as his deputy.

Bangladesh team didn't include veteran Tamim Iqbal in the squad due to concerns over his injuries and Ebadot Hossain was ruled out for knee injury which opened the door to youngsters Tanzid Hasan Tamim and Tanzim Hasan Sakib.

Talking to the media before leaving the country to play the World Cup, 2020 U-19 World Cup winner Tanjim Sakib said, "Winning the U-19 World Cup was definitely a dream come true and now I'm going with the seniors.

“I will try to play well. That gives me a lot of motivation I already won a World Cup and I'm confident. I am very strong mentally. So it gives me a lot of motivation,” he added.

The Tigers will open their World Cup campaign against Afghanistan at Dharamsala on 7 October.

Following that, the Tigers will face England on October 10 at Dharamshala again, and Chennai will stage New Zealand on October 14.

Bangladesh will clash against India in Pune on October 19 and Pakistan in Kolkata on October 31. Bangladesh will face South Africa at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai's fifth game on 24 October and Netherlands on October 28.

Before their last league game against Australia on November 11, the Tigers will face Sri Lanka in Delhi on 6 November. 

The 10-team tournament will begin on October 5 in Ahmedabad with defending champion England taking on 2019 runners-up New Zealand.

Bangladesh World Cup squad:

Shakib Al Hasan (c), Litton Das, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Najmul Hossain Shanto (vc), Tawhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nasum Ahmed, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib