Bangladesh Cricket

Miraz, Ebadot win ESPNcricinfo awards for 2022

Online Desk

Online Desk
প্রকাশের তারিখ: 12:43 শনিবার, 18 মার্চ, 2023
|| CF DESK ||

ESPNcricinfo has named Bangladesh all-rounder Mehidy Hasan Miraz and pacer Ebadot Hossain the Men's ODI batter and Test bowler of 2022.

The awards were given owing to the 2022 performances, Bangladesh had a successful year, winning their maiden Test against New Zealand. Also, winning the home series against India and the ODI series in South Africa.

Fast bowler Ebadot Hossain, who won the men's Test bowling performance award, was the driving force behind their Mount Maunganui victory. He took 6 for 46 to wrap up off New Zealand for 169 in their second innings.

The men's ODI batting award went to all-rounder Mehidy Hasan Miraz, who topped Ishan Kishan's double-century with a thrilling century from No. 8 in Bangladesh's tight victory over India in Mirpur.
The jury for the awards included former players Dale Steyn, Daniel Vettori, Ian Bishop, Tom Moody, Lisa Sthalekar, Wasim Jaffer, Peter Borren, Farveez Maharoof, Urooj Mumtaz, Niall O'Brien and Mark Nicholas, and ESPNcricinfo's senior editors and writers.
They picked the best performances in the three men's international formats, and performances in women's ODIs and T20Is and Associates cricket at large, in the previous calendar year.

England’s Jonny Bairstow and Sam Curran bagged the Test batting and Twenty20 bowling performance of the year award respectively.

England Test captain Ben Stokes was named the captain of the year and English batter Harry Brooks was declared the Debutant of 2022.

India’s Jasprit Bumrah and Suryakumar Yadav won the ODI bowling and T20 batting performance of the year award respectively.