Cricket Australia

Steve Smith crowns fourth AB Medal

Online Desk

Online Desk
প্রকাশের তারিখ: 17:44 সোমবার, 30 জানুয়ারি, 2023

|| CF DESK ||

As a four-time winner of the Allan Border Medal, which is the most prestigious honor in Australian cricket, Steve Smith has joined other sporting giants Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke as four-time winner.

At the Australian Cricket Awards, the batsman received 171 votes, defeating Travis Head (144) and David Warner (141) for the prize.

Smith, who won the award in 2015, 2018, and 2021 as well, reverted to his best last year and provided a resounding response to any concerns about his future with 1,524 runs, the most by an Australian.

Usman Khawaja, who scored over 1,000 runs in the year, was the winner of the inaugural Shane Warne Men's Test Player of the Year award, beating out Marnus Labuschagne and Smith.

Following a season in which she amassed 976 runs across all three formats, Beth Mooney had a memorable night by winning her second Belinda Clark Award. Additionally, she was named the Women's ODI Player of the Year.

Marcus Stoinis, meanwhile, received the title of Men's T20I Player of the Year in recognition of his outstanding year in the 20-over format.

Warner didn't leave empty-handed after being pipped to the Allan Border Medal, winning the Men's ODI Player of the Year award for the third time in his career.

The 36-year-old notched a century and four fifties on his way to posting 552 runs during the voting period.

Award winners at the 2023 Australian Cricket Awards

Allan Border Medal - Steve Smith

Belinda Clark Award - Beth Mooney

Shane Warne Men's Test Player of the Year - Usman Khawaja

Hall of Fame - Ian Redpath

Community Impact Award - Usman Khawaja

BBL|12 Player of the Tournament - Matt Short

Men’s ODI Player of the Year - David Warner

Women's ODI Player of the Year - Beth Mooney

Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year - Lance Morris

Men's Domestic Player of the Year - Michael Neser

Women's Domestic Player of the Year - Annabel Sutherland

Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year - Courtney Sippel