Bangladesh- India Series

Zakir earns maiden call-up as BCB announces squad for India Test

Online Desk

Online Desk
প্রকাশের তারিখ: 15:41 বৃহস্পতিবার, 08 ডিসেম্বর, 2022

|| CF DESK ||

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced a 17-men squad on Thursday for the first Test of two match series against India at ZACS, Chattogram.

Opener Zakir Hasan has earned his maiden call-up for his brilliant performance in domestic leagues.

Zakir recently hammered an excellent 173 for Bangladesh A to held India A for a draw in the ongoing four-day series in Cox's Bazar.

Bangladesh ODI captain and regular opener Tamim Iqbal missed out the ODI series as he is also unable to play in the opening Test due to groin injury. 

Mushfiqur Rahim, Yasir Ali and Taskin Ahmed have returned to Bangladesh's squad as Mushfiqur had missed Bangladesh's previous Test series in West Indies to perform Hajj, while Yasir and Taskin were injured.

While the series is crucial for India in terms of qualifying for the World Test Championship, Bangladesh will be hoping to cause an upset after defeating the visitors in the ODI series.

Bangladesh has never won a Test match against India, losing nine and drawing two.


Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque, Yasir Ali, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib al Hasan (C), Litton Das, Nurul Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Khaled Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Zakir Hasan, Rejaur Rahman Raja, Anamul Haque Bijoy