Connect with us

World Cup 2023

Bangladesh confirm direct qualification for 2023 WC



ছবি : courtesy

|| CF DESK ||

Bangladesh has confirmed direct qualification for the upcoming 50-over World Cup 2023, which is set to be played in India.

As hosts, India has already qualified for the tournament. England (125), Australia (120), New Zealand (120), Bangladesh (120), and Pakistan (120) have also qualified.

As with the previous edition, the 2023 World Cup will feature ten teams. The main route for qualification is the 2020–23 Super League tournament. From the thirteen competitors in this tournament, the top seven sides plus the hosts (India) has qualified for the World Cup.

Tamim Iqbal-led side played 18 matches where they secured 12 victories. Bangladesh have two series against England and Ireland, next year.

Afghanistan and West Indies are currently in the 7th and 8th positions in the ICC Super League points table. The bottom five teams will play qualifiers with five associate nations for two more spots in World Cup 2023.