T20 World Cup Australia

Roy dropped as England named 15-man squad for T20 WC

Online Desk

Online Desk
প্রকাশের তারিখ: 15:36 শুক্রবার, 02 সেপ্টেম্বর, 2022

|| CF DESK ||

England have named their 15-man squad for the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022, which begins on October 16 in Australia.

Jason Roy is left out of the 15-man squad after a disappointing run for his national team and in The Hundred, with England choosing Phil Salt, who made his T20I debut earlier this year.

Roy has played 11 T20Is since the last T20 World Cup in the UAE in 2021, earning 206 runs at 18.72.

Salt's selection is a reward for strong domestic form, in the ongoing tournament The Hundred. He is among the top run-getters, currently at No.2 with 313 runs in eight games, averaging 44.71.

Jos Buttler leads the team in his first global tournament as captain, taking over from Eoin Morgan, who retired from international cricket earlier in the year.

Dawid Malan also earns a recall after performing in England’s recent series against South Africa. The left-hander has a strike rate of 148.27 in T20Is this year, and is the like-for-like replacement for Morgan. He is also the current leading run-scorer of The Hundred with 358 runs at 59.66.

The ECB have confirmed that seamers Mark Wood and Chris Woakes have recovered from their respective injuries and have been named in the 15-strong squad.

England have also named a 19-member squad for the Pakistan tour ahead of the T20 World Cup, featuring five uncapped players: Jordan Cox, Tom Helm, Will Jacks, Olly Stone and Luke Wood.

Their squads for the Australia series are the same as the one they've named for the T20 World Cup.

Squad for T20 World Cup and T20I series against Australia:

Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes, and Mark Wood.

Travel Reserve: Tymal Mills, Liam Dawson, and Richard Gleeson

Squad for Pakistan T20Is:

Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Harry Brook, Jordan Cox, Sam Curran, Ben Duckett, Liam Dawson, Richard Gleeson, Tom Helm, Will, Jacks, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Olly Stone, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Luke Wood, and Mark Wood.