Cricket Australia

Smith crowned Australia's cricketer of the year

Online Desk

Online Desk
Publish Date: 15:58 Saturday, February 6, 2021

|| CF DESK ||

Steve Smith has been named Australia's Cricketer of the Year for the 2020-21 season. Along with reclaiming the 'Allan Border Medal' on Saturday, the former captain also received the ODI Cricketer of the Year award.

With 126 votes, 12 more than second-placed Pat Cummins and 29 ahead of Aaron Finch in third, Smith was named Australia's Player of the Year for the third time. David Warner was the best of the year three times, much like Smith. The only ones on top of these two are Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke.

"I was a bit surprised,” “I don’t know, I didn’t feel like I had the biggest Test summer, which I think holds the most votes. I think my one-day cricket was pretty good last year, so I obviously got a lot of votes there.” Smith said about winning the AB Medal.

"I played well in ODIs but it was important to perform as a team. We defeated England on their soil. However, I did not play that series. I was in good form with India. The year went well. I hope it will continue in the future.”

Pat Cummins was named Test Player of the Year, but was narrowly beaten to the Allan Border Medal. Besides, Ashton Agar has been named as the best player in the T20 format.