Connect with us


Prime Bank, Rupganj win as Sheikh Jamal thrash Dhaka in DPL opener



ছবি : courtesy
|| CF DESK ||
Fifties from Towhid Hridoy and Shykat Ali powered Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club to register an eight-wicket win against Dhaka Leopards in the Dhaka Premier League (DPL) 2022-23 season at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, on Wednesday.
Towhid smashed an unbeaten 54 off 30 which featured seven boundaries and a couple of sixes while Fazle Mahmud struck 41 runs to chase down 170 in 31.3 overs.
Batters Saif Hassan and Shykat made a positive start to put on 49 runs for the opening partnership. Saif failed to score big but Shykat top-scored with 63 runs in 56 balls with nine 4's and two 6's.
Salauddin Sakil and Chauranga de Silva took one wicket each for Dhaka.
Earlier, Mrittunjoy and Parvez Rasool shared six wickets together to thump Dhaka on 169-10 in 39.3 overs.  Rasool and Mrittunjoy returned figures of 3-31 and  3-23 respectively.
Dhaka batters were not consistent enough and they kept losing wickets in regular patterns and  could eventually manage 169-10. Only Pinak Ghosh and Moin Khan were able to play average innings. Pinak was the highest run scorer with 41 for Dhaka and Moin scored 40 runs.
Prime Bank vs City Club 
Prime Bank cricket club clinched a slim contest against City Club by seven runs at BKSP-3 Ground, Savar.
Veteran Alok Kapali contributed 55 runs in Prime Bank's 217 runs, chasing the mediocre target City club reached 209-7 in 42 overs.
Legends of Rupganj vs Agrani Bank
Agrani Bank suffered a 20-run (D/L Method)defeat despite the century by Azim Kazi against Legends of Rupganj at Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium, Narayanganj. 
Azim steered Agrani with 102 off 105 that featured nine boundaries and four sixes to propel the side post 243-8. Irfan Shukkur smashed 71 off 77 aided by six 4's and a six for Rupganj as they managed to score 215-3.